WhatsApp now lets you hide your profile picture and last time you saw it from specific people

by admin, Sunday, 19 June 2022 (2 months ago)

WhatsApp was widely known for being slow to introduce new features. However, social media seems to be improving its pace. To put things right, in less than a year, the company has announced features and major upgrades that have been requested for a long time. The company started supporting multiple devices and recently announced “Communities” as a major hub for team management. There are also interesting features for chatting and file transfer. Today, the the company is taking an important step to make the app more interesting for those who want extended privacy.

Last year, WhatsApp began developing a new privacy policy. Allows users to hide their profile pictures, their latest impressions, and information about specific people in their contact list. Of course, as a “beta feature”, it was not available to everyone. This is changing today, as the company announced the official global availability for Android and iOS devices.

More privacy features are directed at WhatsApp

WhatsApp

So far, there have been three privacy options for profile photos, recent views and info. These were “Everyone, My Contacts and Nobody”. Now, there is a fourth option that says “My Contacts Save…”. Interestingly, this feature was available for a while in the Status Privacy settings.

As usual, the function follows the “WhatsApp logic” which is basic: If you do not allow users to see your information, you can not see their information. “So keep in mind that if you restrict someone’s access to information Profile, Last Visit, and Information to a person, that person’s data will also not be visible to you.

Interestingly, the company is also launching some group dialing features. It allows users to mute others during a group call, and they can also send messages to specific individuals. You will be able to see a banner when someone joins an off-screen group call.

Rate this news

Comments

Your email address will not be published.